jump to navigation

Eclipse Ganymede startup problem in Ubuntu : org.eclipse.swt.SWTError: XPCOM erro July 11, 2008

Posted by sandakith in Eclipse.
trackback

Here is the problem as reported in the /.metadata/.log file
==================================================
org.eclipse.swt.SWTError: XPCOM error -2147467262
at org.eclipse.swt.browser.Mozilla.error(Mozilla.java:1597)
at org.eclipse.swt.browser.Mozilla.setText(Mozilla.java:1820)
at org.eclipse.swt.browser.Browser.setText(Browser.java:733)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.intro.impl.presentations.BrowserIntroPartImplementation.generateContentForPage(BrowserIntroPartImplementation.java:252)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.intro.impl.presentations.BrowserIntroPartImplementation.dynamicStandbyStateChanged(BrowserIntroPartImplementation.java:451)
at org.eclipse.ui.internal.intro.impl.presentations.BrowserIntroPartImplementation.doStandbyStateChanged

-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/dev/nul

==================================================
Here is how I solved the issue in Ubunty Hardy Harron

sudo apt-get install xulrunner

# Include this in the .bachrc
export MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=/usr/lib/xulrunner
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

and for safety also download the SWT binaries for Linux. Installation procedure:

* unpack the archive: swt-*-linux-gtk.zip
* copy libswt*.so to
%JAVA_HOME%/jre/lib/i386, (%JAVA_HOME% is the folder where JRE is
installed on your system; e.g.: opt/jdk1.5._07),
* copy swt.jar to %JAVA_HOME%/jre/lib/ext

==================================================

Comments»

1. Pablo - July 21, 2008

sudo apt-get install xulrunner

append to eclipse.ini
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner

voila!!!

dan - January 4, 2010

Hooray!

2. suhrid - July 27, 2008

I run the 64 bit version of ubuntu and downloaded the swt-libraries linux x86_64 bit from here :

http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/downloads/drops/R-3.3.2-200802211800/download.php?dropFile=swt-3.3.2-gtk-linux-x86_64.zip

However, after unzipping this file, I noticed that this does not contain any .so files.

I anyway copied the swt.jar to JAVA_HOME/jre/lib/ext. I also found a file named libcairo-swt.so in the eclipse folder, so I copied this as well to JAVA_HOME/jre/lib/amd64 folder. XULRunner 1.9 is also installed on my machine. I set the path settings as you suggested and tried running eclipse. I still get the XPCOM error and eclipse refuses to start.

Is this because i have not copied the correct libswt.so file ?
Would appreciate any help in this regard.

Thanks a lot !
Suhrid,
Bangalore, India.

3. Joel Pearson - August 14, 2008

Just adding:
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner

to my eclipse.ini worked for me.

Thanks for the heads up.

4. willanka - August 21, 2008

Thanks Paulo,

I’m also running a 64bit system.
modifying the eclipse.ini worked for me too!

5. willanka - August 21, 2008

Oops, sorry for mispelling your name Pablo.
Thanks to Joel for confirming your solution.

willanka

6. Rufus - September 10, 2008

Thanks a lot Pablo for the solution..
installing xulrunner and appending to the eclipse.ini file worked for me .

Thanks
Rufus

7. Setya - October 3, 2008

Hi,

Thanks for the tips.

Adding XULRunnerPath system property works when I open the Welcome view, i.e I didn’t get XPCOM error anymore, but when opening Eclipse Help Contents, the error is still thrown even with the system property added.

Any ideas ?

Setya

8. joel - October 9, 2008

doing this worked for me

sudo apt-get install xulrunner

append to eclipse.ini
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner

voila!!!

9. Kashif ur Rehman Qureshi, Rawalpindi, Pakistan. - October 15, 2008

Now its working after

sudo apt-get install xulrunner

append to eclipse.ini
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner

on Ubuntu 7.10

10. David - October 23, 2008

joel’s solution worked for me on Ubuntu Feisty, x86_64. Thanks!

11. JR - December 18, 2008

I am a new bie for linux , I dont know what “Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner” it does. but solved my problem like a charm.

12. Alex - December 24, 2008

Pablo, Joe, thanks a lot, working now

13. Bookmarks about Ubuntu - January 7, 2009

[…] – bookmarked by 4 members originally found by tit760 on 2008-12-08 Eclipse Ganymede startup problem in Ubuntu : org.eclipse.swt … […]

14. david - January 15, 2009

Joel Pearson’s solution worked perfectly

15. Daniel Raynaud - January 27, 2009

With a fresh CentOS 5.2 distribution, I was getting this same error running Ganymede. The fix was ‘sudo yum update xulrunner’.

16. P I L A N G O » Eclipse running on jaunty again - February 26, 2009

[…] updates to jaunty and finally tracked it down to an issue with xulrunner thanks to the comments on this post.  So if you’re getting a blank dialog box on launching eclipse lately the short answer […]

17. abhinandan singh - March 12, 2009

wow great
just
yum update/install xulrunner

and append the line

-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner
specifying the xulrunner script file path.

worked for me.
thanx a lot folks………

18. NYB - March 24, 2009

I am useing eclipse 3.4 with kubuntu and firefox 3.0.7. I am yet not able to fix the XPCOM error . Using 32bit system

I have also installed xulrunner, also modified eclipse.ini, set variables as above in .bashrc too..

BUT STILL I GET XPCOM ERROR ON ECLIPSE STARTUP

please help..

19. NYB - March 24, 2009

Ok fixed the problem.. was using older version of xulrunner

20. Tiger - April 11, 2009

Yeah, NYB, I got the same problem as yours.

21. Tiger - April 11, 2009

But after installing the xulrunner, it still does not work..

In addition, they say that you do not need the xulrunner, on Ubuntu if you already have the firefox installed.

Thanks

22. Tiger - April 11, 2009

Besides, it is weired that my old web project never report / cause SWTError. but new created one always.

WHY??????????????????

23. Claudio - June 23, 2009

To me works appending to eclipse.ini this line:

-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner

WITHOUT the trailing “/xulrunner” and WITHOUT setting the .bashrc file.

Ciao!

24. Dragon - July 4, 2009

Yo, thanks.

25. Yuen-Chi Lian - November 23, 2009

Thanks. This post fixed my problem.

26. Roger - November 24, 2009

Thanks a lot, this fixed my problem!!

I’d like to add that first I didn’t understood the hint:

“Here is the problem as reported in the /.metadata/.log file”

for I didn’t know where to search for that file – so I was not sure, whether this solution also fits to my problem.

Finally I found it in ~workspace/.metadata/.log – so if there are dummys like me entering this page and may not find the solution to their problem, this may be the hint, where to look for their particular problem, the .metadata directory lays in the directory eclipse uses as root for all projects to be filled in – standard is “workspace”

27. 夜弓的咖啡馆 » Reset the layout/views setting of eclipse - December 1, 2009

[…] Some solutions looks good, and proved by the follow comments. However, none of them works on my machine. […]

28. alexandre - December 7, 2009

Worked for me! Thanks!

sudo apt-get install xulrunner

append to eclipse.ini
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner/xulrunner

29. Andrew - December 12, 2009

Thanks for posting this, modifying the eclipse.ini file worked for me as well.

30. Iván - December 14, 2009

Thanks a lot. After trying some options for a while finally I’ve found this page and now my eclipse is running on ubuntu 9.10 64 bits.

Regards, Iván.

31. Lhoussin - December 14, 2009

Hello world !!
just add this
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/mozilla
in your eclipse.ini without installing xulrunner.
it’s working for me (xubuntu karmic koala 9.10)

32. EmFr - December 22, 2009

Hey!

The xulrunner solution works for me too, thanks!!

(kubuntu jaunty 9.04 i386)

33. Eclipse on Ubuntu 9.10 « thoughts.each{ blog it } - December 29, 2009

[…] ! I finally found this blog post mentioning that the workaround is just to […]

34. Ramu - December 31, 2009

Pablo solution (Post #1) worked for me. Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Kola x64.

35. Marybel - February 11, 2010

Thank you very much! I just added -Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath pointing to the correct xulrunner location (I found with $ which xulrunner in my ubuntu machine) to eclipse.ini and voila!

36. Bruhathi - February 20, 2010

Hey, thanks a lot. It really helped ..

37. A - February 20, 2010

It works for me too.
Modify eclipse.ini and add the line below. ( Assuming xulrunner is installed in the linux distro.)
-Dorg.eclipse.swt.browser.XULRunnerPath=/usr/lib/xulrunner

38. Sebastian - April 6, 2010

Thanks so much! The xulrunner thing works perfectly


Leave a Reply

